I left my heart in San Francisco!


A piece of it definitely. We want to come back and spend time exploring – days exploring.

I woke up at 6:30 and set out for my morning walk on the Promenade deck by 7 am. But as I stepped out on deck and headed to the bow of the ship, I could see the Golden Gate dead ahead,

Coming toward the Golden Gate, into the bay.

Coming toward the Golden Gate, into the bay.

and we were going right under it. Since we were going to be off the ship, walking for most of the day, I didn’t hesitate – back to the stateroom and grabbed the camera.

We cleared the bridge, but it wasn't by a whole lot.

We cleared the bridge, but it wasn’t by a whole lot.

Al was still asleep, so I left him, since I knew we’d be heading out at sunset and he’d see it at the other end of the day. I headed up to the observation deck at the top of the ship. There were a lot of other people who had the same idea, but there was lots of room, both inside, at the windows and outside at the very top of the ship.

 

Foggy, rainy day - typical of San Francisco. Felt right at home for some reason!

Foggy, rainy day – typical of San Francisco. Felt right at home for some reason!

It was overcast and really humid when we started out, as you can see from the photos – when we first approached the Golden Gate bridge, it was raining, but the sun was already trying to break through.

Hope for a sunny day!

Hope for a sunny day!

When the ship was pulling into the pier at about 7:30, I went back to the cabin. Al was awake and up, so we got breakfast and headed off the ship as fast as we could – about 8:30 am was when we hit the ground.

 

The view from our deck at the ship's berth

The view from our deck at the ship’s berth

By the time we docked, the rain had stopped. The overcast was nice, but the humidity took some of the pleasure out of the walk, but the fact of being in SF and liking what I saw more than compensated for the less than perfect weather.

At our berth

At our berth

We’re berthed at Pier 27 – brand new and right downtown, so it was a lovely walk along the waterfront, past Pier 39 (fisherman’s wharf), to the swimming beach (and by that time, with the humidity, I was ready to jump in too), and the Ghiradelli Chocolate factory, which is now a mall and a small chocolate factory, not the big production it was in years gone by. No, we didn’t stop to buy any: not gaining weight, remember?

By the time we headed more inland (not by much, just a couple of streets) and rambled, it was clearing up and by the time we had climbed to St. Peter and Paul Roman Catholic Church and were suitably impressed, it was bright, hot sunny and much, much drier.

We rambled some more, up toward the Coit Tower. Al climbed the last hill to actually get up to it – my knees took one look at the slope and threatened to head back to the ship without me, so I rested and got some photos of some interesting plants.

As it turned out, we hadn’t targeted right (we weren’t aiming for it, really, but sort of were), but tomorrow will reveal just where our rambling took us.

One comment on “I left my heart in San Francisco!

  1. Joe Cummings says:

    I love SF. Can’t wait to hear what adventures you had

Leave a Reply

