The Next Big Thing


It’s been another long while since I’ve posted, and I actually have something about my own writing to talk about today. You see, I’m participating in something called a “blog hop” that my writer friend, Katherine Bolger Hyde invited me on. Thank you Kate! Here, I talk about my writing and then I point you at other writers, who are also talking about their “next big thing”. Go off and read theirs after you’ve read mine and see if you’re interested in what we all have coming up.

1: What is the working title of your book(s)?

The Laughter Thief. Which will hopefully change when it comes out, because I don’t like it, but haven’t yet thought up a better title.

2: Where did the idea come from for the book?

It was a fund raiser for our church. We had a silent auction. I offered to write a story featuring one of the kids of the parish as the main character. This is the result.

3: What genre does your book come under?

As closely as I can pin any of my work down, it’s an updated fairy tale. Baba Yaga has always fascinated me, and I love the idea of the modern day world connecting to the traditional fantasy/fairy tale stories, so I took a traditional character from a set of fairy tales and put her into the book. I also played a bit with the fact that Baba Yaga comes from an Orthodox culture and tried to tease that element of the story out a bit more.

4: Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

mhamilton baba yaga

Margaret Hamilton for Baba Yaga, but without the green makeup and with more warts and flyaway white hair.

 

For Sage? No clue. She’s based on a real person, so that’s who I think of when I think of the character.

And Teghin? Judy Holiday – a brilliantly intelligent 1950s actress who did “dumb blond” perfectly.judy holiday

5: What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

Modern Orthodox girl meets ancient evil witch on her own turf. Look out Baba Yaga.

 6: Is your book self-published, published by an independent publisher, or represented by an agency?

It’s at a traditional, royalty paying publisher’s now, waiting for the editorial board to meet. I should hear soon.

 7: How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

I started it in August of 2012 and finished it by December – the little girl who is the main character received a good copy of the manuscript for Christmas.

 8: What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I don’t really know – it sort of fits into the general “magic in the normal world” genre, but the religion in it is overt, and the characters do travel to another land. Sage is a faithful Orthodox child but I haven’t read any that are quite like mine.

9: Who or what inspired you to write this book?

It started out as a picture book, because that’s how old the girl is. But once Baba Yaga appeared in the book, it became an early reader, and once she showed up, I couldn’t resist playing with her and the whole fairy tale concept. The personalities of the real people the main characters are based on drove a lot of the book.

10: What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Besides an evil witch or two, it’s got a fairy godmother, a talking mouse, a two-headed argumentative insulting parrot and riddles. And maybe a saint.

And that’s what my “Next Big Thing” is. Besides stopping by Kate’s blog, be sure to visit these writers, and see what their next big thing is:

Charise Olson writes what she calls California fiction – “It’s like Southern fiction, but without all the humidity.” In other words, contemporary fiction with a humorous voice but with underlying serious spiritual and emotional issues.

 Katherine Grace Bond’s latest book is a YA spiritual journey/romance, The Summer of No Regrets. She also teaches TeenWrite workshops where teens interact with each other as their characters.

2 comments on “The Next Big Thing

  1. Mimi says:

    Oh my goodness, I think I squealed out loud. What a great topic, and Silent Auction item! Can’t wait!

  2. This sounds great! And what a fun idea to have at an auction.

Leave a Reply

